Guest Post – Quilting

Standard

Quilting: IS a Therapy

Often friends and family ask me ‘why and when’ I quilt. ‘When I am lonely, when I am quiet and when my mind needs creative stimulation’ is what I answer. I strongly understand that the feel of fabric between the fingers, the rhythmic motion of needle work creates peaceful and enchanting therapy.

I have invited my friend Amruta, a young IT professional and beginner quilter to share her thoughts too.

Recently I moved to a new country. As exciting as it was to open the cartons and reassemble my home, I was also lonely. Without my friends and family around me, I found comfort in arranging familiar fabric pieces to make a ‘scrappy quilt’ and a table runner.

  • Quilting gives me ME time and space – I can think quietly, plan and organize thoughts in my head.
  • It is calming and soothing – a great stress buster! In fact, it brings out creativity.
  • Banishes loneliness and boredom – playing with fabric is comforting , in fact, addictive. You can’t put it down!
Colourful scraps turn into   a baby quilt

Colourful scraps turn into a baby quilt

Table runner - 3 blocks in Pinwheel pattern

Table runner – 3 blocks in Pinwheel pattern

And here is Amruta’s gorgeous quilt ! I can’t believe she is a beginner…she is a show stopper!

You can visit her on her website http://www.basicquilting.wordpress.com. She has immersed herself into Quilting – a new hobby she is taking seriously!

Colour ME Red - 6 quilt blocks made by: Amruta

Colour ME Red – 6 quilt blocks made by: Amruta

Blocks 1& 2 :   Monkey Wrench , Dutchman’s Puzzle

Blocks 3&4 : Ohio Star,  Jacob’s Ladder

Blocks 5& 6:  Maltese Cross, Card Trick

Here are Amruta’s words:

” It is always tough for me to express my feeling in words, but for Veena, I would like give an attempt.

Happily married, in a love drenched life there was a feeling of dryness at some corner. It was loads of free time, post marriage that was becoming a burden with a feeling of joblessness, as I proudly decided to be a home maker. It even got heavier as we moved to Singapore.

On a bright evening our paths crossed. Although completely strangers, Veena and I spoke and became friends forever.

Hobbies were NEVER my priority. I don’t know what being a homemaker was, as I was busy working in an IT office. It was that day when Veena showed me her quilt, she was making for her grand-daughter, I decided to take up quilting seriously. Learning sewing was always on the back of my mind since childhood. Holding tread and needle again was like re-discovering myself ! 

As a first step I got myself enrolled in a basic patchwork class and ‘proudly’ completed my first quilt. Bright Red colours attracted my attention, and the teacher balanced it with black and white – ALL BOLD colours! I felt bold and happy once again.

Quilting soothed my strong frustrated emotions, giving way to peace and new beginning. It filled up not only corners of my home, but the long boring hours of boredom. It was like having a friend close by’.

Veena always said to me” One should always have a lifelong hobby”, Now I have one.”

Do you have any quilts /patterns to share ? What are your feelings about hobbies ? What makes you feel calm and relaxed ?  Do post your comments and feelings. 

5 responses »

  1. Well Veena you know that I love crochet and knitting. I have recently knitted some scarves for my daughter and my son’s girlfriends. I have also been busy knitting for my niece’s new baby. However seeing your post about quilting has really made me interested in trying it out!! I’ve always wished I could do this and since I sew myself I always end up with various scraps of material which I am reluctant to throw away!!! So who knows I might manage to make one!!! Many thanks for your wonderful and interesting posts. Best wishes for the new year!!

    • Always lovely to hear from you Rita. A very happy and eventful New Year to you and family. Cheers to scrappy quilts and happy quilts! I’m planning to start a new Asian themed one- using up bits of Batik cloth. I did so love your Batik – Singaporean long skirts.

Leave a Reply

