Crochet to Heal: Therapy

Standard

Phew! The past few weeks have been mentally exhausting caring for an aged geriatric member. I feel so drained, but thankful that I did a service. The well deserved ‘quiet’ time was very essential to keep my own mental balance:) and help me re-energize.

I definitely found therapy in doing crochet. My time to sit down and do nothing – just twiddle with soft balls of yarn between my fingers. I had no goal or patterns, no deadline. Just crochet away anywhere – on the balcony of the apartment, kitchen, relaxing on the couch or even taking the yarn to nearby restaurant and the playground. In out, in-out …went the needle.

Crochet had a calming, centering effect on my mind. It helped me concentrate, meditate and even improve my posture. Making projects for ‘others’ was a way of reaching out to friends and family, building my own self esteem that ‘I can’ which was very important to nourish me. 

The stack began growing. Wonder what this will become?

Cushion? Blanket? Baby dress? Tea Coasters? stack of squares

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bored of repeating? Work with new colours. Work on small projects. Practice. Meditate.

Granny square using left over yarn.

Granny square using left over yarn.

Vary the colour, thickness of yarn, practice with wool, cotton or jute. Granny squares are so versatile and can be turned into just anything – a big blanket, a vest, a small shoulder bag or clutch purse. Endless options, so be creative!

Multi colour granny squares

Multi colour granny squares

 

              PEACE    LOVE   CROCHET

May your day be wonderful and sunny!

All content and images copyright Veena S. (2013 -2016) http://www.walktomarket.wordpress.com. Please see copyright disclaimer

 

 

 

 

About Veena S.

'Travel broadens the mind.' It's been a wonderful journey through the past few years, living and travelling to many countries. Certainly there were few eye openers, at other times just a comparison on cultures and food and cuisines. My blog is my learning journey to capture and re live these moments, share photographs and use technology. Come ...see the world with me.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

